Arizona

18-19 January 2018

1962 Chevrolet Impala SS Convertible

  • Chassis no. 21867L122377

Without Reserve


  • Desirable Super Sport option package
  • Roman Red with matching red interior and contrasting white convertible top
  • Nicely detailed and road-ready


The ’62 Chevrolets wore handsome styling with all-new sheet metal. Triple taillights told everyone this is an Impala. Chevrolet wanted to be sure people knew you were driving the top-of-the line, as lesser Chevys made do with dual taillights. The Impala name appeared for the first time in 1958 as a deluxe trim and appearance package on the Bel Air Hardtop and convertible. Proving so popular, it became a separate, top-of-the-line series in 1959.

The SS or Super Sport option was available for the first time in 1961, and in 1962 it became a separate sub-series in the Impala lineup, offering both coupe and convertible models. In 1961, fewer than 500 Impalas received the Super Sport treatment. By the end of 1962, nearly 100,000 Impala buyers wanted SS initials on their new cars. The SS models included special SS badging and wheel covers, side molding insert, engine-turned rear cove molding, passenger assist bar, and bucket seats with console – for just $53.80 extra. No wonder so many chose the SS option! Chevrolet built 75,719 Impala convertibles, and they remain equally as popular today as when new.

Equipped with the optional 327-cu. in. Turbo Fire V-8 and Powerglide automatic transmission, this lovely example is finished in Roman Red with a matching red vinyl interior and contrasting white convertible top. Power steering and brakes, dual rear antennas with AM radio, electric clock, and period-correct white sidewall tires complete the package.

While in the consignor’s possession, this Impala has been kept in a climate-controlled facility and regularly serviced. It is nicely detailed and finished in great colors and will be the perfect car for cruise night, Chevy shows, or just that occasional top-down summer drive to the ice cream shop.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more