Arizona

18-19 January 2018

A Century of Sports Cars

2005 Ford GT

  • Chassis no. 1FAFP90S35Y401939

Without Reserve


  • A Century of Sports Cars Collection
  • Just three owners and less than 2,000 miles from new
  • Fitted with all four options


Designed and built to celebrate Ford Motor Company’s 100th anniversary, the GT was an instant classic the moment it was first unveiled to the public. Not only was the car a true homage to the original GT40 that took the checkered flag at the 24 Hours of Le Mans four years in a row, but it was a true world-class supercar.

At its heart was Ford’s all-aluminum 5.4-liter V-8 mated with a Lysholm twin-screw supercharger, capable of producing 550 hp and 500 ft.-lbs. of torque. While Ford was hoping for the car to compete directly against the Ferrari 360, F430, and Lamborghini Gallardo, which it did in terms of list price, the GT was in another league of supercars altogether in terms of outright performance. With a top speed of 205 mph and a 0–60 sprint of 3.3 seconds, the GT was a closer competitor to Porsche’s Carrera GT and the Mercedes-McLaren SLR.

Finished in Midnight Blue, this GT is equipped with all four options available: white racing stripes, forged aluminum BBS wheels, red painted brake calipers, and the upgraded McIntosh stereo. Delivered new to its first owner in late 2005, the GT remained with them until May 2013, at which time the car had been driven approximately 1,205 miles. At that time, the car was purchased by its second owner, a resident of Connecticut, who drove the car some 600 more miles before it was purchased by its third and current owner.

Even with the new Ford GT in production now, the Ford GT of 2005–2006 remains highly desirable and has proven to be one of the most collectable cars built in the 21st century. This example is in wonderful condition and with only 2,000 miles on its odometer, it can be driven and enjoyed or kept and preserved as one of the most significant and exciting cars built by Ford in its storied 110-year history.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more