Hershey

5-6 October 2017

Previous Next

Lot 113

1946 Divco Model U "Rosenberger’s Dairies" Delivery Truck

  • Chassis no. UM36546

$12,500 - $17,500

Without Reserve

To be auctioned on Thursday, October 5, 2017


  • Beautiful example of America’s most recognizable delivery truck
  • Iconic door-to-door flat-floor design
  • Used to deliver milk for Rosenberger’s Dairies


There is perhaps nothing more reminiscent of America in the post-war years than the image of a smartly uniformed milkman delivering glass jugs of milk to each door along a suburban neighborhood. An essential part of that image is the milk truck, conjuring feelings of nostalgia for all who see one.

A small Midwestern company, Divco soon emerged as the producer of the best delivery vehicles around. Founded in 1925, the Detroit Industrial Vehicle Company reached peak perfection in 1936 with the release of its Model U. Affectionately termed the “snub-nose,” the base of the Model U would remain in production for another 50 years, until Divco closed its doors in 1986. Most famously, Divco popularized the ability to drive the delivery truck from the standing position, allowing drivers to push the seat out of the way in order to quickly hop in and out of either side of the truck for faster deliveries.

Offered here is one such iconic Divco snub-nose delivery truck, resplendent in the cream and red livery of the Hatfield, Pennsylvania, company Rosenberger’s Dairies. Produced after the Divco factory was converted from war-time use, this 1946 example is virtually identical to pre-war models. For the first time in the company’s history annual production reached nearly 7,000 units, proving that Divco had truly conquered the dairy world.

For nostalgic fans of the ’40s and ’50s, or perhaps a collector who loves to make people feel good, this Rosenberger’s Dairies delivery truck is sure to be the center of attention wherever it goes.

Please contact our exclusive automotive transportation partner, Reliable Carriers, for a shipping quote or any other information on the transport of this vehicle.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more