London

8-9 September 2013

Mercedes Collection

Previous Next

Lot 124

1939 Mercedes-Benz 170 V Cabriolet Saloon

  • Chassis no. 443571
  • Engine no. 181TR25533

Sold for £31,360


38 hp, 1,697 cc inline L-head four-cylinder engine, four-speed manual gearbox, four-wheel independent suspension, and four-wheel hydraulic drum brakes. Wheelbase: 2,845 mm

Successor to the W15 six-cylinder 170 model, the 170 V, internal code W136, was slightly larger than its predecessor and more powerful, but it came with only four cylinders. Introduced in 1936, it had a more streamlined body than the 170 and was sold at a lower price. The “V” signified vorn, German for front, distinguishing it from the rear-engine 170 H model, with the “H” standing for heck, or rear. The 170 V fell naturally to taxi work, which is a role that Mercedes continues in Germany to this day.



This 170 V, delivered in August 1939 through the Daimler-Benz Königsberg branch, has the unusual cabriolet saloon body. It is essentially a four-door with a fold-back black fabric roof that gives open air to all passengers when opened. The side rails and windows, however, remain in place, providing shelter from the wind and cold. The black paint has a deep shine and exhibits only a few blemishes. The brightwork has all been recently re-plated, with the only flaws being a few spots where the undersurface was less than perfect.



The car is upholstered in tan leather, which is all in very good condition, except for some normal wear in places where the lowered roof has been in contact. The dashboard is painted gloss black and presents very well, whilst tan carpet lines the floor. A day-night mirror is mounted above the windscreen.



The rear of the car has an exposed spare tyre with a fitted black fabric cover. The engine compartment and undercarriage are generally clean and fully functional, but they are of driver quality and not overly-detailed. The 170 V was the most popular Mercedes model in its day, with more than 70,000 built from 1936 to 1942. The Cabriolet Saloon, however, is one of the more unusual variations, and it is seldom seen today.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more