London

8-9 September 2013

Mercedes Collection

Previous Next

Lot 167

1941 Mercedes-Benz 230 Cabriolet A

  • Chassis no. 1530121555
  • Engine no. 427271

Sold for £92,400


55 hp, 2,289 cc inline L-head six-cylinder engine, four-speed manual gearbox, four-wheel independent suspension, and four-wheel hydraulic drum brakes. Wheelbase: 3,050 mm

In 1938, the short-chassis Type 230 N was augmented by a 3,050-millimetre sibling, which was designated simply as “230”, with an internal code of W153. The engine was bored out one millimetre, to 2,289 cubic centimetres, although the smaller powerplant was still available. The W153 was built into the Second World War.



This tidy 230 Cabriolet A was originally delivered to Norway in January 1941. In place of the frequently seen side-facing Cabriolet A rear seat, it has forward-facing seats for two, albeit with less legroom. They also fold to form a parcel or luggage shelf. As the recipient of an older cosmetic restoration in blue with black wings, the car still presents well, but it is showing some minor orange peel and older brightwork that has been repeatedly buffed out. It carries coachwork from Mercedes’ Sindelfingen works and is marked as body number 850811.



The hood is black cloth, and the tan liner shows some stains around the rear window. A black cloth cover is included. The interior has grey leather seats, matching door panels, and grey carpet, which are all unworn. The boot is also lined with grey carpet. The instrument panel shows some age, and the gauges appear original and unrestored. The wood garnish moulding is very appealing in a matte vanished finish.



The driver’s side has a mirror spotlight, and the hood is fitted with polished landau irons. Other equipment includes fog lights on the bumper brackets. B.F. Goodrich Silvertown whitewall tyres are fitted. The engine compartment and undercarriage are generally clean, but they do show evidence of use. The undercarriage is not detailed, and it exhibits some overspray, indicating that the body was not removed for restoration. All in all, the car presents well. As the cosiest of the 1930s open Mercedes, the Cabriolet A offers comfort in fair weather or foul.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more