London

8-9 September 2013

Mercedes Collection

Previous Next

Lot 119

1953 Mercedes-Benz 170 DS Saloon

  • Chassis no. 191.110.02944/53

Sold for £23,520


40 hp, 1,767 cc inline overhead-valve four-cylinder diesel engine, four-speed manual gearbox, four-wheel independent suspension, and four-wheel hydraulic drum brakes. Wheelbase: 2,845 mm

One of the first projects at the newly merged Daimler-Benz AG was a diesel engine. This engine was six-cylinder unit that was used for commercial use. It was introduced in 1926 and steadily improved in ensuing years. In February 1936, a four-cylinder version for passenger cars debuted at the Berlin Auto Show, and it soon became a workhorse in Germany’s taxi fleet.



After World War II, economy and austerity were necessary virtues. An overhead-valve diesel version of the model 170’s 1,767-cubic centimetre petrol engine made its entrance for 1949. Although immediately popular for commercial and taxi use, it also gained favour in the private passenger car market. This 1953 170 DS Saloon is a prime example from this market.



Painted in dark blue, it has dark grey vinyl upholstery and a light grey fabric headliner. The paint exhibits some orange peel, but it presents well. The interior is unworn, and the seats, floor carpet, and headliner show no flaws. The instrument panel is nicely detailed, and it has a varnished wood garnish moulding and air outlets from the heater. A clock complements the speedometer and engine condition gauges, and a column gear change is fitted.



The brightwork shows a few pits, and some items appear to have original plating. The boot lining matches the carpets, and the compartment is furnished with a correct spare tyre and jack, which are located under a shelf. The engine compartment is generally clean, but it exhibits some soiling from use. As a nice example of the post-war diesel passenger car line, it will be an asset to any collection or a wonderful start for the entry-level collector.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more