London

8-9 September 2013

Mercedes Collection

Previous Next

Lot 145

1963 Mercedes-Benz 230 SL 'Pagoda' Roadster

  • Chassis no. 113.042.12010784

Sold for £34,720


170 bhp, 2308 cc single overhead-cam inline six-cylinder engine, four-speed automatic transmission, upper/lower A-arm front suspension with coil springs, swing-axle rear suspension with coil springs, and front disc and rear drum brakes. Wheelbase: 2,400 mm

The Mercedes-Benz product line of the late 1950s had a glaring void. The 300 SL sports car was magnificent but expensive, and its 190 SL sibling, developed from an entry-level saloon, lacked performance. To remedy this omission, development began on a six-cylinder evolution of the 190 SL that was internally coded W127 and intended to be badged as 220 SL. Along the way, however, the development was redirected toward the S-Class W112 platform. The result was the W113, a fuel-injected, 2.3-litre sports car that was introduced at the March 1963 Geneva Motor Show. Badged 230 SL, it came as a roadster or “pagoda roof” coupé. Nearly 20,000 were built through 1967, of which more than half were exported, many of them to the United States.



Road & Track was impressed by its performance, stating: “The 230 SL really belongs to the fast car group”. Successively larger engines, such as the 250 SL and the 280 SL, kept the W113 in production through 1971. When finally succeeded by the R107 and C107 cars, nearly 50,000 had been built.



The first-year 230 SL offered here is a largely original car, including what appears to be the factory finish of Papyrus White and the black leather upholstery, chrome, and removable black pagoda hardtop, as well as the authentic “salt and pepper” carpeting, which are all well-preserved. Equipped with a Becker Mexico radio/cassette player, clock, and modern boot-mounted Alpine CD changer, it remains in very good overall condition, and it would be a pleasure to lightly recommission, drive, and enjoy.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more