London

6 September 2017

Previous Next

Lot 103

1959 Jaguar XK 150 3.8 Fixed Head Coupé

  • Chassis no. S 836482 BW
  • Engine no. VA 1161-8
  • Gearbox no. JBX 1484
  • Body no. J 10516

Sold for £40,250

Documents: Form 13.20 A


  • Fitted with its original 3.8-litre engine
  • Recent mechanical service, ready for the road


Jaguar’s new XK 150 Fixed Head Coupé premiered alongside the drophead variant in 1957 as the last of Jaguar’s XK-series cars. As the swansong of the series, the XK 150 featured upgrades and changes that engineers had adapted from both the XK 120 and XK 140. Many believe that the XK 150, especially the FHC, was the most drivable of the three models.

According to its JDHT Certificate, this 1959 XK 150 was built on 1 October 1959, finished in Cream with a Tan interior, and was outfitted with an automatic transmission. It was then shipped to Jaguar Cars New York, where it was delivered new to a Peggy Paige Walton. After passing through four owners, the Jaguar was due for a restoration. This restoration returned the XK 150 to its original, beautifully presented and mechanically sound specification. Upon completion of the restoration, the Jaguar was sold to the current owner in 2014. The current owner has recently had the car mechanically serviced, and has replaced the fuel hoses and parts of the brakes. The vehicle has undergone a test drive and is road ready.

As the last of Jaguar’s fabled XK series of cars, every Jaguar enthusiast should strive to have one in their garage, as it represents a fine luxury sports car with lots of uniquely British character. This XK 150 has been well maintained and preserved throughout all its ownerships, and it would be a wonderful example for the enthusiast looking to enjoy classic British motoring at its best.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more