London

6 September 2017

Previous Next

Lot 153

1970 Mercedes-Benz 280 SE 3.5 Coupé

  • Chassis no. 111.026.12.000388
  • Engine no. 116.980.12.000178

£90,000 - £140,000

Documents: German Fahrzeugbrief




  • One of 11,309 examples produced between July 1970 and September 1972
  • Presented in original colour scheme of dark blue over tan upholstery
  • Recently restored and re-trimmed


Based upon the W108 chassis, which had appeared in 1965, the 280 SE model followed in 1967, with the 3.5-litre variant – powered by the new small-capacity 200-hp V-8 engine – appearing in 1970. Featuring a single overhead camshaft per bank and Bosch Jetronic fuel injection, the engine and its later 3.8-litre sibling would go on to become one of the mainstays of the Mercedes engine range for over 20 years, being renowned for its smooth power delivery with relatively light weight.

This particular car was first registered in Germany in February 1970 after having completed production that January and is presented in its original colour scheme of Dunkelblau (dark blue) over a tan interior. Although its original 3.5-litre engine has been replaced with a later unit of the correct type at some point, it has been comprehensively restored and re-trimmed in recent years, and an accompanying report, compiled in 2009 by marque expert Dipl. Ing. Rolf Sprengler, details the exacting specification, which has been adhered to throughout this process. Recently, an RM Sotheby’s specialist has had the pleasure of riding along in the 280 SE 3.5 and reported that it performed faultlessly and is every bit as luxurious as its modern counterparts. Its current owner has used the car regularly on trans-continental trips, testifying to its reliability and comfort.

Retaining exquisite period details such as original Becker ‘Grand Prix’ radio, electric sunroof and even the original Sekurit side windows, the car has covered a relatively modest (and documented) 133,000 km from new and represents a delightfully correct and usable example of this stylish German classic.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more