London

6 September 2017

Previous Next

Lot 134

1993 Land Rover Range Rover Vogue LSE

  • Chassis no. SALLHBM33KA638599

Sold for £29,900

Documents: UK V5


  • A recent, no-expense-spared restoration
  • Includes bespoke Wilton overmats
  • One of the finest Series 1 Range Rovers available


When thinking of Range Rover today, most enthusiasts immediately picture a luxurious, high-end vehicle more at home on the M25 than in the country. Contrary to this perception, Series 1 Range Rovers like the example offered here were built as utilitarian vehicles, albeit with a higher level of comfort than its sister marque Land Rover. Featuring somewhat spartan interiors designed to be easily cleaned, the Range Rover inspired a strong brand following almost immediately from its introduction in 1970, a following which has survived four design iterations, tens of thousands of vehicles produced and countless miles driven.

Though many of the Series 1 Range Rovers were utilitarian in nature, the example offered here is without question a top-of-the-line automobile by anyone’s measure. Having been the subject of a recent comprehensive restoration in which no expense was spared, this Series 1 Range Rover is fitted with its original Dark Tan leather upholstery, thick bespoke Wilton wool overmats, highly figured wood veneered interior surfaces, and an upgraded stereo system.

In addition to its cosmetic excellence, this Range Rover is in fine mechanical fettle. The 200-bhp 4.2-litre engine, gearbox, differentials and Electric Air Suspension system all function according to specification. Having been recently serviced, this stunning automobile is ready for any challenge the world can throw at it, from morning coffee runs to traversing the muddy farm fields.

With fewer than 63,300 miles on the odometer at cataloguing, the Range Rover offered here is arguably one of the finest extant examples of the first vehicle to wear the storied Range Rover nameplate.

Addendum

Please note that contrary to the printed catalogue description, this Range Rover is not Fitted with a Brooklands body kit.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more