Villa Erba

25 May 2013

Previous Next

Lot 116

1954 Cisitalia 33DF Voloradente

  • Chassis no. 00510
  • Engine no. 0510

Sold for €128.800


69 hp, 1,089 cc inline four-cylinder engine with dual Weber carburettors, four-speed manual transmission, independent coil-spring front suspension, leaf-spring rear suspension, and four-wheel drum brakes. Wheelbase: 2,420 mm (95.3 in.)

  • Extremely rare variant of an iconic Italian sports car
  • Elegant styling by an ex-Pininfarina designer
  • Historic competition history
  • Beautiful, fresh restoration


In 1953, the Cisitalia 33DF Voloradente (translated in English to “flyby”), was introduced as the successor to the remarkable 202 series. No more than 15 are believed to have been built, in both berlinetta and spider configurations. (Of those, reportedly only three are known to remain in existence.)



Designed by Aldo Brovarone (whose résumé includes an estimable stint with Pininfarina), its attractive shape, formed from lightweight aluminium, has aged delightfully. Even with its small capacity engine, the 33DF was said to achieve 170 km/hr, and with ventilated alloy drum brakes and supple suspension, it offered exhilarating performance wrapped in an elegant package with exquisite appointments.



Chassis 00510 was sold new in Rome, and then, as early as 1972, the Automotoclub Storico Italiano (ASI) certified it as a historic vehicle, owned by Felice Marchese, of Milan. Concurring with supplied documentation, the 33DF appeared in numerous Italian and Swiss historic rally and hill climb events, with notable results. Drivers included Introzzi and Ganoglio, as well as Marchese, who owned the car for several decades, until his death.



In 2008, this rare jewel was beautifully restored in Italy, with its engine fully recommissioned, including new pistons, rods, and bearings, and all of the components were inspected and replaced, as necessary. This impressive restoration remains fresh today, as the car has been driven very sparingly since its completion.



This lovely Cisitalia represents a pinnacle of Italian ingenuity and style, and today, it should be considered a captivating choice for classic rallies or concours events.

Alexander Weaver

aweaver@rmsothebys.com

+1 864 313 6844
California, United States

Alexander Weaver joined RM Sotheby’s in 2011 as a Car Specialist after graduating from Furman University in South Carolina. Born... read more

Augustin Sabatié-Garat

asabatie-garat@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 74 1511 4179
United Kingdom

Augustin Sabatié-Garat joined RM Europe in 2012 as a Car Specialist after more than a decade in the collector car hobby. Gradua... read more

Barney Ruprecht

bruprecht@rmsothebys.com

+1 203 912 7168
Ontario, Canada

Barney’s interest in classic cars began at an early age after being introduced to his father’s all-original 1965 Porsche 911. Barney l... read more

David Swig

dswig@rmsothebys.com

+1 415 302 2247
California, United States

David Swig joined RM Sotheby’s West Coast division as a Car Specialist in May 2015. David is a life-long automobile enthusi... read more

Don Rose

drose@rmsothebys.com

+1 617 513 0388
United States

Don joined RM in 2006 after several years of professionally trading sports and classic cars, and after earning a reputation as a noted... read more

Donnie Gould

dgould@rmsothebys.com

+1 954 566 2209
Florida, United States

Donnie Gould joined the RM team in 2002 as a partner and Car Specialist after more than two decades in the vintage automobile auction ... read more

Gord Duff

gduff@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

Gord Duff began his journey with RM Sotheby’s in 1998. Since then, he has gained an intimate knowledge of a variety of marques a... read more

Jake Auerbach

jauerbach@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Jake Auerbach got his start in the automotive industry at an early age, spending his summers during high school working at a classic c... read more

Kurt Forry

kforry@rmsothebys.com

+1 717 623 1638
California, United States

Having worked for Bonhams’ Automobilia department for over 10 years, Kurt Forry joined RM Sotheby’s with more than a decad... read more

Matt Malamut

mmalamut@rmsothebys.com

+1 805 231 6410
California, United States

A long-time car enthusiast and Southern California native, Matt studied Automotive Technology at San Diego Miramar College and complet... read more

Michael Squire

msquire@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Michael Squire joined RM Sotheby’s European Division in the summer of 2016. He comes to RM with a prestigious racing background ... read more

Mike Fairbairn

mfairbairn@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 352 4575
Ontario, Canada

As one of the three founding partners of RM Sotheby’s, Mike has a long-standing interest in the classic car industry. Graduating... read more

Oliver Camelin

ocamelin@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 75 0110 7447
United Kingdom

With an extensive background in exotic sports car history and sales, a particular passion for American curves, and fluency in three la... read more

Paul Darvill

pdarvill@rmsothebys.com

+44 (0) 20 7851 7070
United Kingdom

Paul Darvill joined the RM Sotheby’s European team at the beginning of 2015. Paul holds a degree in French and Politics from the... read more

Pete Fisher

pfisher@rmsothebys.com

+1 519 784 9300
Ontario, Canada

Pete Fisher was first introduced to antique cars in high school, working for Classic Coachworks in his hometown of Blenheim, Ontario. ... read more

Shelby Myers

smyers@rmsothebys.com

+1 310 559 4575
California, United States

Shelby Myers grew up with the classic car industry infused into every aspect of his life. He had the unique opportunity to watch the R... read more

Tonnie Van der Velden

tvandervelden@rmsothebys.com

+31 653 84 19 60
United Kingdom

Tonnie Van der Velden joined RM Sotheby’s European division in September 2015 as a Car Specialist. A lifelong enthusiast, Tonnie... read more